Voice Alpha

on reading poetry aloud for an audience

Robert Creeley reading

2 Comments

To be honest, I don’t understand the poem. But I am still struck by what strikes me as the deep uncertainty of Creeley’s voice.

The Tunnel by Robert Creeley
poem text (42 secs)

Author: Nic Sebastian

Nic is the author of Forever Will End On Thursday and Dark And Like A Web. She founded the now-archived Whale Sound site and is co-founder of The Poetry Storehouse. Nic blogs at Very Like A Whale and Voice Alpha.

2 thoughts on “Robert Creeley reading

  1. Maybe after more sleep I could try to explicate the poem, but probably not. I think it’s more about a mood created than anything rational anyway. And I agree. I like it.

    Side note. I have seen you and others use this recording application. Is this a tool in wordpress or something you embed from somewhere else? The closest I get is by using Sound cloud, but I like the simplicity of whatever it is you are using.

  2. Hi David – thanks for stopping by! This audio player is courtesy of WordPress. You need the direct link to the mp3 file, wherever it is (in Creeley’s case, I used the download link from the Poetry Foundation’s Poem of the Day site), then you just embed it in your post like this:
    [audio http://thelinktotheaudiofile.mp3%5D. When you publish the post, it shows up as a little audio player. I use the same audio player for mp3 files I have uploaded to WordPress (see whalesound.wordpress.com – each post is constructed like that). Good luck! Best, Nic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers